Monday, July 11, 2011

Review of "Cold Kiss"

Cold KissCold Kiss by Amy Garvey

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Description from Goodreads: “It seemed so right. Danny was mine, I was his, and that wasn’t going to work if he was dead. So I would make him not dead, not anymore. I didn’t think any further than what it would feel like to kiss him again, to wrap my arms around him and bury my head against his shoulder.
That was my first mistake. It also turned out to be the biggest.”

When her boyfriend, Danny, is killed in a car accident, Wren can’t imagine living without him. Wild with grief, she uses the untamed powers she’s inherited to bring him back. But the Danny who returns is just a shell of the boy she once loved.

Wren has spent four months keeping Danny hidden, while her life slowly unravels around her. Then Gabriel DeMarnes transfers to her school and somehow, inexplicably, he can sense her secret. Wren finds herself drawn to Gabriel, who is so much more alive than the ghost of the boy she loved. But Wren can’t turn her back on Danny or the choice she made for him—and she realizes she must find a way to make things right, even if it means breaking her own heart.

Amy Garvey’s transcendent teen debut is perfect for fans of Shiver and Beautiful Creatures. Wren’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

My thoughts: Danny died in a tragic accident forever changing Wren's life. She loved him with everything she had. In her grief she makes up a spell to bring him back from the dead.

It doesn't take long for her to realize her mistake. The Danny she brought back is not the boy she loved. He is alive, but not living. He doesn't have a heartbeat and he is cold. She has to keep him hidden.

Life becomes rough. Her lies are beginning to catch up with her. Then she meets Gabriel and knows she needs something more. How do you undo a mistake?

The premise is promising, but the book fell a little flat for me. This book combines zombie and witchcraft elements.  My cautions for younger readers and their parents are language and sexual situations.

I received this book to review from Once Upon A Twilight Book Tours.  This book will be released on September 20th.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for commenting. Each and every one is read and appreciated.
Have a wonderful day.