Monday, February 18, 2013

Three Sisters & Showstoppers Blog Tour ~ by Helen Smith

Three Sisters (Emily Castles Mysteries)Three Sisters by Helen Smith
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Source: Received to Review
Genre: Mystery

Book DescriptionTwenty-six-year-old Londoner Emily Castles has been invited to a party in the big house at the end of her street. How could she know, as she left her house that evening, that she was making an appointment with death?

This 70-page comic mystery novella will appeal to fans of M C Beaton and Alexander McCall Smith

My thoughts:  Emily attends a gathering at an abandoned home down her street. She lives in London and a troupe of performers from many parts of the world hold an event in different locations. It is original and something that everyone in the neighborhood is going to.

Emily has great attention to detail and realizes that there is something that is not right at the gathering. She could swear that she witnessed a murder, but somehow it is covered up right before her eyes. She must figure out how they did it and solve the mystery in one evening.

This is a very interesting novella. It isn't full length, so there wasn't much time for character development or to find out why Emily is so interested in the case. We are given a short introduction to her.

Helen Smith will be releasing a full length novel about Emily this fall. I look forward to knowing more about Emily and what makes her tick.

Three Sisters and Showstoppers by Helen Smith

Three Sisters and Showstoppers are two novella-length stories in the Emily Castles mystery series. The first full-length novel, Invitation to Die, will be published by Thomas & Mercer in October 2013.

The Emily Castles mystery series is set in present-day London. It features twenty-six-year-old Londoner Emily Castles and her neighbor, eccentric philosophy professor Dr. Muriel Crowther. In Three Sisters, Emily goes to a party in a big house at the end of her street. She's sure she witnesses a murder, but no one will believe her. She teams up with Dr. Muriel to investigate.

In Showstoppers, Emily helps out at a local stage school run by her neighbor, Victoria. Soon she's mixed up in a blackmail plot and two deaths. Emily and Dr. Muriel team up to prevent further a massacre live on stage during the end of term show.

Praise for the Emily Castles Mystery Series

Fast-paced, funny, and mysterious... Helen Smith is a master story-teller.
~Socrates Book Reviews

It grips you from the very beginning.
~Babs Books Bistro

Bright, colorful and full of surprises.
~Amazon Vine Reviewer

Fast-paced and unusual, I highly recommend this one.
~Eva’s Sanctuary

Praise for Helen Smith

Smith is gin-and-tonic funny.
~The Booklist


Author Helen Smith

Helen Smith is a novelist and playwright who lives in London. She's the author of bestselling cult novels Alison Wonderland, Being Light and The Miracle Inspector as well as the Emily Castles Mystery Series.

Amazon * Facebook *  Twitter * Blog

Tour Giveaway
10 winners will each receive a Kindle Ebook copy of Showstoppers & Three Sisiters
Ends 2/28/13

a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment:

  1. Thanks for the review, Lisa. Thanks for hosting the giveaway, too - and good luck to everyone who enters.



Thank you for commenting. Each and every one is read and appreciated.
Have a wonderful day.